In this Discussion

The official Album number 3 thread

Comments

• QUOTE (Electra @ Apr 23 2008, 08:31 AM)
    While I really cannot WAIT for the next album, and I'm so excited to see all the promotional pics and b-sides to singles and everything that goes with it, I'm happy for them to take their time. I'd rather wait ages than the guys feel that they need to rush something out that doesn't meet their usual amazing standard, you know?

Exactly!
    I'm so thrilled with the Bonerama collab - I can hang on

I never get tired of their last albums, and I've been playing them constantly for 3 or 4 years. Almost to the exclusion of any other music.
    That's something I haven't done since I was 11 and discovered the Beatles.

• Anyway, I'm looking forward to their 3rd album. smile.gif
  • Chantal from the band Morningwood just posted this on her myspace page:

"Pedro and I had been writing the follow up for our self titled record for some time, we wrote about 2 and a half records worth of songs, when we finally had enough that we deemed worthy of a sophmore effort. Right as we were getting ready to go into record there was a major merger between Capitol Records and Virgin Records, and pretty much everyone at Capitol was fired and most of the bands were dropped.

To our delight, the powers that be wanted us to stay, but as the major labels have been struggling to stay alive they needed all bands to sign new record deals, ones which were only vaguely reminiscent of the original, and so for the past 6 months we have been trying to work it out, legally unable to release any music until it was finished."

Since OK Go is/was also with Capitol, has anyone heard about it affecting the 3rd album?
  • Wow, that's pretty big! I'm surprised we/I haven't heard about this.

I don't think they'll be dropped, but maybe this is one of the factors as to why the album's taking so long?