In this Discussion

hiya I'm new :) be nice

edited November -1 in General Discussion
hi i'm brand new to the ok go forum! i love love love ok go!!!!!!! xxxxxxx

Comments

• I'm new too. Hello!
  • emseyluvsu, I haven't said hello to you yet. Welcome.

Welcome, ChristelAdina! I saw in another thread that you are a Monkees fan. *ahem* YOU'VE TALKED TO MIKE NESMITH ON THE PHONE!?! *swooning* What did he say to you? I see you are a Lou Reed fan. Might you perchance also be a T.Rex and David Bowie fan? I love those men!

• I am not a religious person, Tempe, but I subscribe to a set of beliefs loosely called Murphianity. The first precept of this is as follows:

David Bowie is God.

(And he is, in all likelihood. I mean, try to prove otherwise.)

I made up Murphianity one afternoon in 1991 (or maybe it was 92, but anyway it predated the "David Bowie's Area" stuff by almost a decade). My friends were teasing me because an inordinate amount--to them, anyway--of my interests revolved around David Bowie and The Rolling Stones. And because I was in the habit of spinning spoken-word stories from thin air for my friends (Often called FUBAR Faerie Tales, because they usually involved an inebriated rock star.). I defended myself by announcing, "David Bowie is God." And I began to tell a creation myth/invent a religion. 

Many other rock gods populate the pantheon I worship, but obviously, Murphianity is patterned on the Christian system, hence the name (In a 1979 Bauhaus interview, Peter Murphy admitted that if he could be anyone else in creation, he really wanted to be Bowie. Well, he can't, but I like him ever so much, so I made him the son of God). And all the other major people are represented, including the prophet Marc Bolan and Lou, the Baptist...