In this Discussion

WTF?

124»

Comments

• Amen, DJRose!
  • Heh, thanks Sunnyside. biggrin.gif

First of all, for those outside the US who want a high quality WTF, here's a Vimeo link: http://vimeo.com/7166047

And because this has turned into a debate about the ways that the music industry is being completely fucktarded (I agree, it is), I'm going to bring this up here. I've been working for Capitol's street team for just over 3 years now, going to concerts and passing out stickers and the like, being paid in concert tickets and the occasional CD or piece of swag. They have been very good to me, yet I know that what I do used to be done by paid professionals - complete with expense accounts and high salaries - because a friend of mine used to be one of those people. I know they're good to me because I am essentially working for free, and that's as far as it goes. To illustrate the point of just how much big labels (like Capitol) care about what their artists want, J0rge tweeted a link to a blog this afternoon that discusses the model that labels use to pay their artists. It's actually quite disturbing, IMO.

http://www.toomuchjoy.com/?p=1397

This was the part that I found to be the most troubling, emphasis mine: